RVBusiness Q&A featuring Mike Sokol

Editor’s Note: The following RVBusiness Q&A features Mike Sokol, commonly regarded as “the nation’s number one authority of RV electricity.” Sokol, the author of several books on RV electricity, frequently writes on the subject at RVTravel, and ten months ago started the popular Facebook group RV Electricity, which has grown to about 6,000 members. He also conducts seminars at many of the popular RV shows and rallies. 

RVBusiness:  Mike, tell us about your seminars and how you got started. 

Sokol: I got started with my first RV website called noshockzone.org about 10 years ago after a friend told me about getting shocked when he touched a band’s tour bus. I’ve been an electrical engineer for over 40 years and have had my master electricians license since 1978. I’ve worked in industrial power, military power, and projects of all sizes. And I’ve taught electrical safety in large industrial environments. 

Many RVers are interested in learning about their RVs electrical system and electrical safety. I started with my first RV seminar about two years ago, and think I have done about 12 seminars a year. Most are for RV owners, but I also have conducted RV technician electrical seminars, most recently at the PRVCA technician training in Hershey this past September.

RVBusiness: What have you done lately?

Sokol: I did a three-day master class seminar at the RVillage Rally in Florida a couple of weeks ago. The facility seated 300, and we were standing room only every day. People were lined up after the seminar to ask me questions. This was my third year of doing the RVillage rally, and clearly, there’s a need for RV electrical education. I have also conducted seminars at the Forest River Owners Group (FROG) Rally, Grand Design Rally, Airstream Rally, Enumclaw RV Show, Hershey RV Show, and earlier this year, the Boston RV and Camping Expo, which, like RVillage, was standing room only.