Waxing the Roof

What are you using on your roofs to help with the oxidation. Are you on your hands and knees waxing or doing something else? Al I’ve ever done in the past is use a wash and wax soap product but it doesn’t really do much for the white wash that runs off.

Todd, I have been using Mop n Glow for several years.  I clean the roof thoroughly then use a sponge mop to apply a coat of mop n glow.  I'm careful not to put it on so heavily that it runs down the side of the coach, it will cause streaks on the sides if i overuse it.  I have thought of rolling up an old sheet and laying it along the edge as I apply the product.  Sorry I don't have pics, but it does a nice job. I usually do it in the spring and again in the fall.

Back ~5 years ago I spent 2 day scrubbing the roof and then applied Zep High traffic wax.  Didn't last at all.  I just resigned myself to washing the roof.

Then I read where some people were applying Rustoleum Topside paint, readily available at big box stores.  So this summer I took the time to pressure wash the roof using a lower pressure washer with a rotary concrete cleaning head (~14" diameter), this worked great.  It took me less the 2 hours to clean the roof with using a scrub brush in tight areas.  Let the roof dry good and applied 2 coats of the Topside. 

Don't have a lot of history on it yet but so far I can't complain.  Time will tell though!!

I've used the Rustoleum topside... didn't go through the prep you did though.  Scrubbed using a cleaner, 'Awesome', then rinsed thoroughly and let dry.  I took probably twice the hours to mask, than to paint (I'm a sloppy painter).  Then, two coats of topside... so far so good.

23 minutes ago, cbr046 said:

Having a garage helps!  LOL

- bob

I just finished the garage early this year.