Lithium Batteries used for House batteries

Michael Powell

10 minutes ago, JDCrow said:

1) No

Generally a newer inverter/charger that is mapped to charge lithium is needed. And a DC/DC charger to charge off alternator.

I did convert to lithium, I’m no expert, but can give you what I did 

9F6395C4-8D3F-46E1-B512-29B92FCEE7AB.jpeg

1920F0E6-A402-48B6-A517-64335EC16B54.jpeg

D73DD7B6-9676-4794-AF0D-1CC528C85FE4.jpeg

65CA41BE-9901-40E3-AB52-D7CDFFC8E9CA.jpeg

Are you happy with the results.. How many Batteries did you have and how many batteries are you using also cost and where you purchased the system. My e-mail is mpowell@powellwatson.com

3 hours ago, Michael Powell said:

What's the good bad and Ugly using lithium for house batteries.  

1 Will they charge off the Alternator/ Inverter/ Generator

any other equipment needed to convert or is it a bad deal...

I have 4 battleborn gc2 100 amp lithium batteries in a 2007 knight and charge them with my magnum inverter charger. I upgraded the control panel to the me-arc, but they make a special lithium one as well I think.

My alternator didn’t charge my house batteries before so I didn’t have to worry about it but you could just unhook the solenoid. You need a dc to dc charger or battleborn makes an isolator that replaces your bird solenoid so that your alternator doesn’t overheat charging your house batteries. 

I’m relatively new to these but they basically doubled my amp hours since you can run them to 0 instead of 50%. The only downside is that you need to avoid overheating your alternator and they don’t charge under 25 degrees- although if you get the internally heated battleborns as I did you don’t have to worry about it 

I'll provide my experience from recently designing my own LiFePO4 batteries.