CB and AM/FM antenna locations

Guest KenAVTech

Guest KenAVTech

Yup I know CBs are kinda out dated but I’m a guy who likes things to work. 2003 Monaco Camelot 34PST. Has 2 Antennas one on the PS, one on the DS roof. Both are a pain in the butt to get off! )?&@“! ;0). Which side is which antenna??  ALSO why are neither bases ground to the rig through a ground plain or is the front cap aluminum cored and grounded to the frame. Which means the screws in the mount do the grounding maybe!?

Ken

If the same as my 2001 Dynasty, the one on the PS is the CB antenna and there was an inadequate effort to provide a ground plane. I think some folks have glued a piece if flat sheet metal onto the roof around the antenna as a solution. unless I am mistaken, it doesn't have to be grounded to the antenna--just has to reflect signal. the one on the DS is for a cell phone and is a different type which needs no ground plane.  I am not an expert in this area--just researched it years ago when trying to improve my CB reception.

Guest KenAVTech

Thanks for the info, I did determine today that the PS is the CB. The DS I have not determined as of yet, Im hopefully its the AM/FM antenna. but if  not any idea were they did put it?

CB radios may be “old school”, but having one in the coach proved to be worth it’s weight in gold when (pre TPMS), a trucker called us on the radio to alert us to a flat trailer tire. Also, finding out about an accident in real time vs. Waze, etc., is a nice feature.

As for the ground plane, I have not been able to find info on what, if anything, the antenna is connected to other than the roof. Our coach is an 08 Camelot 42pdq.