Awning Return Speed Issue

I have a 2005 Monaco Diplomat, and the power Carefree side awning, extends ok, but is very slow returning, and requires that we manually help it return, by pushing on the support arms.

The arms don't appear to be binding, or in need of lubrication.

Has anyone ran into similar issues?

Blessings,

Dave

I have the exact same issue on my '05 Dip Carefree Awning.   A few years ago the motor had to be replaced, but the problem existed both prior and after the new motor install.   

Acts like low voltage but I've never tried to trouble shoot it,  If it is low voltage I wouldn't know how to fix it anyway.

Bill

Our 08 HR does the same thing. Our motor has been replaced but it is still going slow. We've talked to service people and they have said that the wire is too small and not grounded good. It would be a pain to try to redo it.

1 hour ago, buddy3753 said:

I have a 2005 Monaco Diplomat, and the power Carefree side awning, extends ok, but is very slow returning, and requires that we manually help it return, by pushing on the support arms.

The arms don't appear to be binding, or in need of lubrication.

Has anyone ran into similar issues?

Blessings,

Dave

It is usually caused by a poor connection at the connector on the outside wall.  I am told that, beside this being a poor quality connector for exterior use, the wires are not large enough.  We have the same issue and it has been on my todo list for years but has a very low priority. We almost never use the awning. Try unplugging the connector and cleaning with a contact cleaner. My guess is that if you temporarily connected to a 12 volt source such as the house battery the awning would move faster.

33 minutes ago, Bob Nodine said: