Coach drifting

Lenny D

Hi, I’m new so please bear with me if this subject has been discussed. I just purchased a 2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT .. I’m actually still driving her home to NJ from Fla. (Thank you Richard) .. I’m having a bear of a time keeping her in a straight line. I’ve reached out to other Monaco owners of the same year. What I’ve been getting back has all been pointing to one thing in particular. The unadjustable Shepard steering box. It’s been suggested that I have a TRW box along with a Watts Link installed .. Not so sure what the cost factor on this is yet but no matter, it has to be done. I’m getting exhausted and not enjoying my ride as I feel I should. I was originally going to have a Safe-T- Plus installed but I’m hearing others did this with minimal improvement. I am also hearing that the Safe-T-Plus puts a strain on the power steering pump .. Of course the fact remains that I am a newbie. So there’s that .. Truth be told, I have been getting used to the drift and learning the steer formula for lack of a better term, but this will be the first thing to have done (if I can find a local shop to do the work) . Does anyone have any suggestions or feelings on this ? …. TYIA. 

Lenny,

Here is an excellent thread on what you’re experiencing. And @vanwill52 is our resident expert on Monaco chassis issues, although certainly not the only one. 

https://www.monacoers.org/topic/3467-roadmaster-8-airbag-suspension-h-frame-movement-and-resulting-wandering/#comment-38152

Agree, great threads on here that have been a huge help. I’ve done the TRW Box, front watts, front sway bar, rear cross bars and will be installing rear watts in the next few weeks 

Our coach is much shorter, I think you’ll discover with the Box, Watts, proper tire pressure, ride height, and good alignment, you’ll find driving bliss.