Large Dealership Service

birdshill123

In my youth I was a parts manager and Service writer for a huge HD brake and wheel shop in Alberta. We had 6 branches and 600 employees. Our soe ualties were Brakes and Chassis. We even built low boy trailers. Granted this was 50 years ago but we charged for the time a mechanic spent on the job. Today they start the clock the minute you are at the service desk. The mechanic will discuss your problem with the mechanic  and the clock is running. If the mechanic needs a schematic or more info the shop computers have all the manuals. He may print out pertinent  data. The clock is still running. It stops when the service writer enters a description of the work performed and he is able to print an invoice. But these dealerships do not work for $125 an hour. The Freightliner shop I was at this week charges $185 an hour. Shop supplies are around 12% of the labor charges. That us a lot if rags and solvent!. When I am at home I know some independent shops that do good work for far less. In the USA many of the smaller shops do not work on motorhomes. They are very busy and can afford to be picky. My rant for the day.

Doesn't only happen in larger equipment shops.

~4 years ago I was having a problem with my Jeep, I had done a bunch of internet searches and found what I thought was the solution.  I went to the local Jeep dealer and asked them to change a specific part.  They wouldn't do it, said they had to diagnose the problem for $250 and then do the work.  The problem was that this was in intermittent problem.  The shop manager told me there was NO WAY the part that I wanted changed had anything to do with my problem, which was an intermittent loss of dash power.  The part I wanted changed was the module that the ignition plugged into.