Transmission Cooler

Does anyone preventatively replace their transmission coolers? Does anyone have a good lead on where to get them?

I used to work as a technician on heavy emergency vehicles such as fire engines, ladder trucks, and some airport crash trucks. However, I was not a diesel tech or transmission tech by nature. When I got out of that industry (early 2000s) it was highly recommended to replace the transmission cooler every 7 years. The drivetrain matchup in several of those vehicles is similar to our Monaco’s. The manufacturer recommended replacement of the transmission cooler due to high heat transfer and the fact that the cooler will, regardless, eventually fail. In the past I have spoke with a couple Allison experts in my area that were adamant that the slightest coolant breach into a trans, will no matter eventually destroy a trans. As little as a couple tablespoons can mess with clutch material and it doesn’t matter how much flushing takes place. Essentially once coolant has made entry…looking at massive issues.

I can say that while I was in that industry I have seen some major transmission issues in emergency vehicles, mostly from using the wrong filters, so I will stay with genuine Allison filters and Transynd. I have seen only a total of 4 heavy duty trans coolers fail causing costly trans repairs. Just curious of the opinions out there and what people have done, come across, or experienced. Also, recommendations on sourcing one would be greatly appreciated in the conversation as well.

Thanks to all for any knowledge.

1 minute ago, Adam_C said:

I got mine from CG&J Radiators. When I brought it in for a radiator leak they pressure tested the transmission cooler and it failed. Hadn't had any issues before that. 

I will check them out. Thanks for the info