Outside Key Pad

Go to solution Solved by Venturer,

The Essex KE-1701 keypad on our coach is dead. There is no response when touching the pad. Before I order a new one at $340, is there a way to be certain it is bad? The coach also has the Viper security system that I have no experience or knowledge of its operation. I suspect they are tied together, but again, I have little info on either. I would like to take it to someone or a shop that understands both systems and get them working if possible. I'm in Lake Havasu City, AZ now and traveling back to WI in May. Any suggestions?  

Edited by Venturer

If you are not getting any lights or beeps from the pad then more than likely it is dead.  You can get access to the back of the keypad under the armrest on the passenger side.  Checking to make sure you are getting power to the keypad will verify.  If you don't have 12 volts going to it then check fuses, etc.  I'm going to assume the viper alarm is under the dash access panel, but that is just a guess.  The key fob system should be under the dash access panel as well.  Do a search of this forum as there is a good discussion on exactly how to do a replacement.  I changed out my keypad and the keyfobs about 11 months ago.  Just as a note... the two systems lock and unlock the doors, etc... but a not an integrated system.  They are two separate systems.  At least that is the case on my 2003.

This was the name of the thread that I followed when I did this fix.  It is really a nice option to be able to open/lock the doors with the keypad or fob. 

Key Fob Programming - 2003 Executive