Inverter/Charger not inverting

Chuck H

20210817_225351.thumb.jpg.72e259947b9d7faca2881d42bd107d0d.jpgWe have an odd issue with our Xantrex Freedom combi 1500 inverter/charger in our recently purchased 2002 Monaco Knight 34pbd. The inverter portion is not inverting. The charger portion is working fine. The odd part is a previous owner has removed the 200 amp fuse and inserted a small guage battery cable as jumper eliminating any protection. Before I purchase a new inverter/charger and install a fuse I should probably try to research why someone would have removed the fuse in the first place and why the inverter portion isn't working. I'm new to this stuff and not sure where to start. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Pic of remote looks as if the inverter should be working. Other pic shows looped jumper cable where a 200 amp fuse should be. 

20201024_173811.jpg

Isn't your display indicate you are on shore power?  If so your inverter isn't going to supply the 120VAC.

Edited by ko7pjim
Sp

Glad you posted the photos, you need to delete the other two posts to help eliminate confusion....

I agree with Jim, it seems you are on shore power, in that configuration the shore power is supposed to 'pass thru' the inverter and power the outlets on the inverter circuit.  To tell if your inverter is "inverting" you need to disconnect from any power source (except your batteries), push the "inverter" button on that display and the inverter should power (some) outlets, probably the microwave, not the air conditioners..   If it does that it is 'inverting'.... it could be possible that the inverter is doing that but not passing thru shore power... or passing thru and not inverting... check it out and get back to us.

As for the wire in place of a fuse.... no telling, but until there is an overload condition it does not matter if it is a wire or a fuse.

Ken

Edited by Cubflyer