Onan 7.5 Kw Genset Access

I have a 2003 Diplomat with a stationary Onan 7.5 Kw genset. To service the unit (I don't mean changing oil and filters) I mean changing belts and hoses, it will have to be removed from the nice pocket Monaco stuffed it into when it was manufactured. Does any one know if a slide out tray can be added to my Dip? Does anybody know who manufactured the slide out for gensets that are on a slide?

Thanks in Advance

Randy:

When my 8K Onan failed due to a disintegrating water pump belt (NOT a fan belt, the fan is direct drive), I had to pull it out of the motorhome.  Mine is also bolted in and not on a slide.  I also have thought about adding a slideout for the generator, but after having removed it once, I'm no longer feeling the need.

It was easier than I expected.  While not trivial, in retrospect it wasn't that big a job.

Here's what I did:

First, I soaked the bolts holding the generator in with penetrating oils.  I let that sit a few days.

Then removed the generator door.

Then I unhooked the diesel fuel line and fuel return. 

Then I unhooked the DC connections that are near the fuel lines. 

Then I unhooked the AC connections at the front of the generator.

Then I removed the bolts.  I broke two of them . . . after removing the generator I had to drill them out, later which was the most difficult part of the job.

Then I used a rented manual Material Lift to lift and remove the generator.  I put a strap around the back of the generator to the material lift when I pulled it out.

Then I removed the sheet metal covers top, side and back.

Changed the belt.

Reversed the procedure.

While this all occurred over several days, I estimate the actual work hours at 5 hours.  I only asked for help from my son for a few minutes when re-installing the generator, it helped to get the bolt holes lined up.