Inverter breaker

Guest Swsmitty535

Guest Swsmitty535

The breaker on my inverter is tripping pretty often. Living in coach in ne Washington with temps in mid 20s to mid teens. Using 1 space heater to augment furnace. 50 Amp service. This morning with the micro running and turned on coffee pot and breaker popped. How do I test the inverter and/or the breaker?

I have a 2006 Diplomat and have experienced similar inverter breaker trippings. As above,  try different outlets or turn off certain appliances (coffee, space heater) when needed.  

What year, make and model coach do you have?  The differences are HUGE.  For example, our coach has a breaker panel like the one in your home, only smaller, for the shore power loads.  It has another breaker panel just like it for the inverter supplied loads.  Some coaches just have a hand full of breakers, total, and may only have one on the inverter for all of the loads that it supplies.  So coach info is crucial for telling people what you have so they can better help you.

Space heaters draw up to 12 amps.  The microwave can draw 10 to 12 amps.  The coffee pot can draw maybe 5 to 8 amps.  That adds up to around 30 amps.  That would be about 3600 watts, which is a lot for many inverters.

96 EVO's suggestion is a good one.  If you have an outlet or two that are on shore power only, you're golden, as that load won't go thru the inverter, at all.

Alternatively, you can use an H1 load management system.  That's the "Human One".  When you get ready to run the microwave, turn off the space heater until you have heated that chicken pot pie, then turn the space heater back on.