new awning will not retract

I have a 2005 Monaco Diplomat and had a new awning installed about a year ago.  Have not use the awning since new install and it will not retract and it is a Carefree don't know the model but it is he main awning, it will retract about  half a turn but stops and will not move but it will go back to staring point. It sounds like the battery is very weak but I know the battery is charged up as it stays pugged  in. I talked to the installer RV repair and sales the guy give me 0 information on the way to trouble it. I see a rip off, charging $200.00 per hour, they are the only shop in town that I would let them work on it, so you can see  what to do now?

sounds like our awning, if they used existing wiring from old awning that may be the issue. Need to check voltage at the motor while trying to retract. We are losing about a volt between controller relay and the motor. Currently using the wooden curtain pull rod and pull down on the arm at the track on the coach to help it retract. Will run new wires from the controller relay to the motor when we return to FL for the season

Gary on our 07 Knight the relay/ controller is located behind the switch which is just inside the front door in the passenger front armrest. Its a small square pyramid shaped box the size of a normal bosch relay. Its not mounted, just floating in there with a massive harness for all the other switches located there

Do you have a wire connector mounted on the outside of the coach that provides power to the awning?  If so this may be your problem.

My awning had a bayonet twist lock type wiring connector, it had very small contacts that would get corroded.  When that happened the awning would not work.  I could simply take the connector apart and put it back together and it would work (for a while).