Start Capacitors and electric motors

jacwjames

I'll admit, I am an amateur electrician.  I do have some back ground, college courses for my engineering degree, which pretty much just makes me dangerous.  I worked in mining which uses high voltage machinery and I learned to have a safe appreciation of it's potential. 

But I'm not afraid to tear into something when it breaks.  So I had a motor with capacitor that quite working, it would only hum.  So I knew enough to remove the capacitor, short out the terminals to dissipate the stored energy, and test.  It tested bad so I bought a new one.  But that didn't fix the problem

So to Youtube I went and started searching how to test the motor.  Most talked about testing the windings etc.  But then I stumbled onto one that showed how to check the centrifugal type switch that works with the capacitor, basically allowing the stored energy to "help" the motor start but as it starts the switch drops out isolating the capacitor. 

So I tore into the motor, sure enough I found the switch and really couldn't find a problem but I did take some emery cloth and clean the contacts.  Put everything back together and it worked.   A replacement motor like this is pretty expensive, probably $750 or more if I could even find one.  So I'm a happy camper. 

So if you have a motor that fails you might look to see if it may have a centrifugal type switch, it might save you some money. 

• Like 5

Actually Jim the motors with the 'centrifugal switch' have 'start windings' that are energized by the switch (along with the capacitor) to get it running, then drops out of the circuit in the 'run' mode... quite common.... my shop air compressor has failed in this manner... 

Good that you brought this to our attention.

Ken

To All.

I post something like this hoping I might be able to help someone else.  I know others do the same thing.