Auxiliary starting, what is the proper procedure?

I have a 2001 Monaco diplomat Cummins 330. When my starting batteries run low, wondering what the proper procedure is for using the auxiliary start switch, which is on the panel to start the engine using the house batteries. I read once you have to hold it down for at least two minutes but I'd like to know some opinions or processes.

Mitchell

2001 Monaco Diplomat 40'

53 minutes ago, mitchellg2241 said:

I have a 2001 Monaco diplomat Cummins 330. When my starting batteries run low, wondering what the proper procedure is for using the auxiliary start switch, which is on the panel to start the engine using the house batteries. I read once you have to hold it down for at least two minutes but I'd like to know some opinions or processes.

Mitchell

2001 Monaco Diplomat 40'

Also, should or can the generator be running?

Mitchell

2001 Monaco Diplomat 40'

Read your owners manual or download if you don’t have it.  Basically, the stock verbiage is that you hold “on” the boost for a certain period….then pause and repeat. The times and frequency and cycles “may” vary by model and year….so follow what was written for yours.

The INTENT is to put a quick surface charge on the Chassis….assuming that your House batteries are good or that you have 50A pedestal or Genny is running.  The caveat is that the  Chassis HAS to have or show some reserve or voltage or life.  If they ran down and are deader than the proverbial “door nail” while in storage, this will probably not work.