2013 Diplomat voltage fluctuations

KeithP

Hi Everyone, I am new to the forum, I have a 2013 Diplomat 43 DFT, I just got back from a trip to Texas, to pick this new coach up, about a 1000 miles into the trip I noticed 

the voltage fluctuating between 12.2 and 12.6, so i fired up the generator and had 13.1 to 13.6, has anyone ever experienced anything like this.  

Where are you seeing the 12.2-12.6 readings.  Where are you seeing the 13.1 -13.6 readings.

My alternator puts out ~14.2 volts while driving down the road, this is based on my Silverleaf display. 

A couple years ago I removed the original components for charging both the house and chassis batteries.  I had a BIRD, Lambert 415 maintainer, and Isolation Solenoid. 

I replaced them with the Bluesea MLACR latching relay.  Now when driving my alternator will charge both sets of batteries with the 14.2 volts, and will charge to ~13.6 when plugged into shore power or running the genertor.

At rest after driving or unplugged my batteries will show 12.6 to start with and then deplete slowly.  I installed a Victron BVM 712 battery monitor so it shows me the voltage and consumption on the house batteries and shows me voltage on the chassis batteries. 

So you need to look at the wiring diagrams and determine what your charging system you have. 

I tested at the batteries 

Vehicle electronics is not my strong suit, would I find my charging system in my manuals, or do I need to call Monaco.

Thanks 

6 minutes ago, jacwjames said:

Look in the manual, it will have a description of the electrical charging system

There may be a manual in the Downloads section and electrical schematics. 

Thank you for your help!

1 hour ago, KeithP said:

Hi Everyone, I am new to the forum, I have a 2013 Diplomat 43 DFT, I just got back from a trip to Texas, to pick this new coach up, about a 1000 miles into the trip I noticed