Fix for door arm after 16 years.

I’ve had to bend up the portion that sticks out 3 times in 16 years on the 04 Dynasty that’s still in the family. Recently that didn’t work well... pivot is very loose. I know others have replaced the pivot and/or added a bigger dimple or even replaced with a gas strut. These solutions seem overkill but I decided to remove it and see what was needed.

Could not remove it easily as the door mount is pop-riveted to the top of the door, So, I got two heavy hammers and tightened the pivot. Took longer to find two hammers of my liking than the 10-12 times of hitting it to get it tight again. Now it’s probably only good for another 14 years. 

I’ve found a pipe wrench works the best for bending the end that sticks out... had to bend it back down to get the door to shut.

E0D0F8D8-28E1-4C60-8669-F086331E3719.jpeg

80FF21C7-2F40-4748-BDD4-328311C4CD33.jpeg

Edited by Ivylog

When I was a Field Service Engineer we used to call this a "forming adjustment".  You always want to avoid the negative connotation of the word "bend".

re:  Teletype ASR33

• Haha 1

10 minutes adjusting over 14 years and now 20 minutes fixing...$260/ hour by my math and I doubt you replaced in less than 30 minutes. Different strokes for different folks.

My point is “what do you have to loose” beating on it???

Edited by Ivylog

27 minutes ago, Ivylog said:

10 minutes adjusting over 14 years and now 20 minutes fixing...$260/ hour by my math and I doubt you replaced in less than 30 minutes. Different strokes for different folks.

My point is “what do you have to loose” beating on it???