I'm not an electrician but I am even more confused then normal. Please help!

Texomaman73

First off this is a new to me coach and I can only vouch for what I know about it currently.  Just installed a televator in place of couch in the slide out and used the electrical outlet under the kitchen sink that had an instahot plugged in that no longer worked.  I have the motorhome plugged into a 50 amp service and when I turn on the power for the "old instahot" now the power to the televator everything seemed to work fine.  After a while I noticed that the lift for the televator would start to drive up and then go back down randomly.  I thought it was interference from other electronics but when I was attempting to adjust an outside compartment storage door, I got a pretty healthy shock.  Got my DVM out and found that I had 120 volts on the chassis.  If I toggle the switch that sends power to the outlet there is 120 volts present on the chassis even if I unplug the cord to the televator and tv so It isn't the new tv of lift.  With the switch off no 120 present on chassis, so I thought the cord that runs from the toggle switch to the duplex had a short but ohming it out shows it is ok.  What I did find was the other cable that comes into the electrical box behind the toggle switch (which I presumed was the power in) does appear to be shorted to ground, in fact I checked multiple outlets in the coach and they all appear to be shorted across all legs, hot, neutral and ground all are connected, what is going on?  

Jeff, sounds like an open ground.  Start at your pedestal then your umbilical cord and then inside the coach.  Ensure all connections are secure, clean and in good shape. I would pay close attention to the instahot receptacle. Maybe there's a reason why it "no longer worked".....Dennis

• Like 1