Macerator pump

Paul Busch

I've been using Surflow macerator pumps.  They last me about 3 - 4 years.  I've been pumping weekly since 2016 and they're holding up.

One big improvement I made is I put a strainer in the shower drain.  It catches my wife's long hair, which was a major cause of failure before that.  When I'd take one of the failed pumps apart, I'd find the impeller wrapped with long hairs.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FQ78P4/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Dwight

Thanks Dwight,

Hair is what  did the SANICON in. It is so hard to reach but I managed to get the front off and remove the blades. I figured it was so old I might as well replace it. I just mounted the new one in the floor of the service bay and left the original one to remove later. The SEAFLO pump is so moist it doesn’t seem it would last long. I I will check the Surflo out .

paulb

As far as I am concerned the best place for a Macerator Pump is in the garbage.  I fulltimed for 8 years with a good quality sewer hose.  I kept my black tank valve closed and my gray take valve open.  After emptying my black tank, I would rinse it out with a water hose going down the toilet.  I would then close the valve letting a few gallons of fresh water enter the tank.  Never had any black tank issues.    Chuck B 2004 Windsor

• Like 1

We used a Macerator Pump 10 years full timing. Keep the hair out of it. I replaced the impeller as required.  Maintenance is minimal for the convenience it provides.  Proper use habits are a attribute to the performance experienced.   

2 hours ago, Chuck B said: