Dash a/c charge amount

Walker

I have a 2007 diplomat. The low side schrader valve leaked part of the charge out. Had the system evacuated the rest of the way-pulled out 22oz.  Replaced high and low valves, and vacuumed system down. Sticker says 52oz r134. At 52oz, low side was 15psi and high side was 55psi.  Added a total of 96oz.  At 94° ambient, static low side was 110psi and high side 135psi.  Running pressure at high idle, max fan, not recirculating, was low 21psi, high 165psi. Vent temp was 59.4°. Pressures seem low and vent temp seems high, but I am already double the charge of the sticker.  Any insight would be helpful. Thanks

I would stick with the 52 oz.  If that is what it says.  There is no way to check the performance of the system unless you are moving the proper are across the condenser.  Try the 52oz. and get it out on the road under normal operating conditions.

• Like 1

Matt, Is the condenser fan running when the coach is running? I doubt that this would be the problem though.  It is very probable that you have a failing compressor. The differential pressure looks weak. There is that possibility that there is air in the system. What was the gauge reading on the vacuum gauge and how long did you hold it for without the vacuum pump and did it hold? Just my two cents worth 🤗.

• Like 1

First, never charge the high side, in fact don’t even open the valve. The gauge will read with the valve closed. Only charge the low side. When you are done the low side will read around 90 lbs, the high side anywhere between 230lbs to 250lbs, it should blow about 40 degrees below the outside temperature. If you cannot get the charge correct it’s because you put liquid  the high side. If you just let it sit for a day or two in the off position it might possibly balance itself out. Be patient. Remember; liquid only in the low side. I wish you the best. JM

Edited by Xracer

MrAmbassador,