kwikee series 38 step

I have a 2002 Monaco Diplomat LE with a Kwikee series electric step. The motor has crapped out and am having a heck of a time getting it replaced.

I took the whole mechanism, linkage and all off and took it to the local NAPA store . They took the motor apart and tried to match it up with pictures on their computer.

They found one that looked like it would work, but when we tried to install it, it wouldn't work.

Next I ordered on from Amazon which said it worked on a series 38 step. the shaft that holds the gears on mine is round, the one from Amazon has flat edges on 2 sides.

Next I tried Etrailer, and was told I had to order the whole new "upgraded assembly" for $439.00.

I've been told that these are power window motors, but there's a ton if different models. Does anyone in the group know what car the motor is from or have any ideas on how to fix it without spending $439.00?

The number on my motor is 151332

Thanks

Mike Hampton

2002 Dip le

Mike,

As a newbie, you may not be familiar with how to search topics or find info.  This is for your future use and NOT calling you out. Ordinarily, we moderators would move your post to a current or ongoing topic that was exactly what you needed.  So, we request that folks do a search BEFORE starting a new topic.

BUT, sometimes we don’t have time to do that promptly.  So, this is how you search. There is a search box in the upper right section.  Put in a key word like STEP. Then click on the EVERYWHERE and only select TOPICS.  Bingo….more reading and help that is already out there.  So, here is the results. Click on the Link.  Then you  can click on each post….but then you begin to see the post(s) that are good and you read them.