Roof seams- remove and replace or tape over

I have a Holiday Rambler Ambassador with an aluminum roof.  Am planning a solar installation so thought it would be a good tome to redo the seams before making them inaccessible.  I’m pretty sure they need it but a shop gave me two choices, remove and replace the old 4” wide Eternabond  seal running down the middle of the coach and over the seams at the end cap to roof juncture or leaving the old Sealand down and cleaning it with denatured alcohol then laying a 6” strip of Eternabond over the old.  Of course the latter is much less expensive.  Would that be an acceptable course of action.

Also, the vents and skylights need resealing.  Same question, can I just clean the old material and lay nw ever it?  In that case Eternabond, Dicor self leveling or Proflex.  If I remove the old sealing material what should I replace it with?

If I remove the old sealant should I use the oscillating tool I have or is that too aggressive, especially on the fiberglass end caps?

I’ll need to replace the air conditioner gaskets.will the A/C units need to be removed completely or just lifted enough to slide the new gaskets in?

Edited by saflyer

I can say that removing that Eternabond tape is a challenge in itself.  I had a leak in BR slide and decided to remove all of the eternabond.  I used a combination of scrapers and acetone to get it done.  Once gone, it looked great and I felt good about my removal and then applied new eternabond.  I personally wouldn't use any mechanical or electrical devices for removal.  If you can get that acetone to get bw the tape and the roof it will help a lot.  

1 hour ago, Steven P said: