ISC Primary vs Secondary Fuel Filter

I too am headed down this meandering filter path.  I consider myself lucky, or Blessed, to have made it home Sunday night - ATC light & loss of power @ 20 lbs boost (manageable) that degraded to 10 lbs boost by the time I got home (400 mile trip). 

ISC 8.3L engine, 2003 HR Endeavor . . . . and I'm pretty new to the diesel world.  The coach sat idle most of 2019.  I've driven it 4k miles in the last 3 months.

PO installed a Donaldson P555001 fuel water separator ~ 4k miles ago.  According to Donaldson's site it's a 10 um filter where the OEM Fleetguard 1242 is a 20 um filter.  The Donaldson has a clear bowl that I could see some junk in.  Drained ~ 1 cup and the fuel is really dark (normal?) and if I hold it up to the light I can see some junk floating around in the bottom of it.  Not much junk, but obviously contaminated.  Right, that filter's gotta go. 

Q1 - is the Donaldson too much primary filter, filtering 10 um vs 20 um particles?

Q2 - Is it absolutely necessary to change the secondary filter (Fleetguard 1022 10 um) also?

Thanks in advance,

- bob

On my 04 8.3L I run (as did the previous owner who bought it new) the Fleetguard FF5488 and FS1003 filters.

I am relatively new as well, but always change both when I change them and carry spares.

as for the dark fuel, I would say your filters are clogged and need changed. The fuel should be clear.

in reguards to the micron ratings, someone with more knowledge will have to answer that.

Mr Bob,

I'm new to these engines too, happen to have the same coach as you, '03 HR Endeavor, and like you, my unit sat for a while before I bought it this spring.  

I'm not new to engines in general.... and it sounds like my situation... Diesel fuel should not be black,  you need to deal with the fuel contamination (your diesel fuel is "growing micro organisms").