Adjusting the park airbrake

I have a 2001 HR Ambassador with the 2100 allision transmission. I have a shift knob and not a swift pad. I also don't have a p {park} selection on my dash. When I park I put the selector in N and pull the air brake on. I just installed all new brake pads, rotors and calibers on all four sides. Over the weekend I  was on a steep hill and set the air brake and the mh started to roll backwards. This has never happen before, but its the first time I've had the mh on such a steep hill. Its works ok on flat land. How do and how hard is it to adjust the air brake? Thanks     

Something isn't right.  Either the slack adjusters were not set properly or the brakes were caged to releases the parking brakes while doing the brake shoe replacement and the caged brake chambers were not fully released after the repair.  If you have the parking brake set then in either forward of reverse gear when you gently press on the accelerator, the coach should not move.

I'm surprised that the shop who did the work didn't catch this problem when they should have performed an air brake function test after the repairs. 

Attached is a link to a file in our file downloads that will provide additional information on how to perform an air brake pre-trip check.

There isn’t an adjustment. It’s a spring in the air chamber on the drive axle. Agree it may be because there is to much travel…slack adjusters not adjusted correctly. I would take it back as you probably do not have full braking too. Doubt they left the T headed caging bolts in the air chamber as you wouldn’t have any rear brakes.

• Like 1