DPF saga issues - HEST discussion - 2008 Ambassador questions

Hi All,

This is the saga of my DPF HEST light. I originally posted this on IRV2 and was referred over here for more help.

I have a 2008 HR Ambassador 40SKQ with 360 Cummins. Occasionally, up until now my regeneration cycle would run maybe once every 750 miles or so. I went to Florida the end of March and it came on maybe two or three times, so slightly more than normal. Coming home however it would come on 2 or 3 times a day. Should I be concerned? Is this an indication of looming problems? No other indications. It runs maybe 15 mins or so and done. I'll include pic of light. It's indicator 5, HEST High exhaust sys temperature. Says regen in process. These don’t match my owners manual, but match my dash 😞

I was asked about idle time and that is kept to a minimum. My DPF has supposedly been checked and is clear.

One reply: Another cause of high exhaust temps can be a leak in the pressure side of your turbo, as in your charge air cooler or the boots connecting the pipes. These were also checked as SAT.

Flash updates are supposed to be SAT also.

Well so far they had me replace fuel and air filters. They've scanned and no codes or any recorded. Took it to Vermont. Roughly 130 miles each way. Came on within 20 miles each way, once again about halfway and again towards end. Hopefully they can find something.

Well they said my vgt was only opening 22 degs. Replaced it, not cheap. Drove 15 miles yesterday and HEST light again. Back in Monday, grrr

DPF has not been cleaned, performance seems normal.  Actually slightly better with VGT replaced.

Always Ultra low sulphar fuel as far as I know. I’ve even started adding Diesel Kleen.

Lastly…