Mold/Fungus/Moss growing on carpet/OSB underlayment

I have a 2003 Diplomat 38PBDD.  Water leaking in from the front corner of the main slideout has resulted in the growth of some type of mold or fungus or moss on the carpet between the steering column and the drivers side and front walls.

This living thing is apparently rotting (eating) the OSB floor underlayment.  It is orange in color and has a fuzzy moss like appearance.  I have searched the internet trying to find out what it is with no success so far.

Have any of you other Monacoers experienced this or know what the stuff is?

I know how to prevent it (keep it dry) and kill it (bleach or some commercial stuff) , but I just want to find out what exactly this creepy life form is.

Michael Connor

2003 Dip, 38PBDD

Unfortunately once the OSB gets wet the damage is already done unless you can get it dried out and then use a wood hardener, if caught in time you might be able to save it.  There is a wide selection of the hardeners.  I used some in the Class C we had and it worked. 

I had a soft spot that wasn't repairable so I had to replace.  Sounds daunting but not as bad I had first envisioned when I found it.  I could crumble the OSB in my hand, which made it easy to remove.  Had to take out enough to get to good wood.