12V not working

Patrick R

I'm new to traveling in an RV and I just purchased a 2001 Diplomat LE. After I got it home the 12v systems quit working then did work for a while but now everything is dead. The batteries are charged, they will start the generator easily. I have voltage at the cutoff switch at the door entrance but I have nothing at the fuse panel. Everything in the battery compartment has 12V, the inverter is on and the monitor panel in the coach says everything is charged with the inverter reading "Float". 

Anyone have any ideas for me to try? I haven't even had this unit out yet but have a trip planned in January.

Thank you

My first quess would be the salesman solenoid in the rear of the coach. Could also be a bad battery switch if your invertor is bypassing it.  You say that there is voltage at the cutoff switch up front, that should be the case when the switch is off but should have ground on both sides when activated. The salesman solenoid in the rear should have 12v on both big posts when activated. If not, bypass it or move one cable to bypass it and see.

btw, the generator could be started from chassis batteries, ours is. Seems to vary with different coaches.

Thank you. I thought if I had voltage with at the cutoff switch that means it is good. I didn't know how that switch worked.

It seems that no matter which way I have that switch the lights don't work but I hope I am wrong and that it is that simple. I'll try working with that tomorrow.

9 hours ago, Patrick R said:

Thank you. I thought if I had voltage with at the cutoff switch that means it is good. I didn't know how that switch worked.

It seems that no matter which way I have that switch the lights don't work but I hope I am wrong and that it is that simple. I'll try working with that tomorrow.