ME2012 Inverter/Charger inop. Remote Magnum monitor says “DC overload” fault

biloxi_dad
Go to solution Solved by biloxi_dad,

I have a 2005 HR Ambassador which I brought home to clean up for spring/summer travel.  I keep it in covered storage and periodically run it and Genny  to keep batteries charged and operational over the winter.  When I brought it home, applied 120V shore power to charge house batteries, run fantastic fan and residental refrigerator while cleaning.  Everything has been working fine all morning.  Left for a few hours and came back to fine remote monitor indicating “DC overload” fault.  I shut down all power, checked 12V flooded battery voltage to be 12.5V.  Checked charger/inverter and all 3 circuit breakers were set, but I reset the two output breakers just in case. The green LED on the unit was out indicating it was not working.  I was running the charger and inverting option at the same time.  Could I have fried the unit?

Left it over night thinking it could be an overheat issue (although never had that problem before.  I checked my four 6 volt deep cycle batteries to ensure they were not low on fluid and all were fine.  All connections seem tight and no corrosion. I applied shore power and checked again this morning and still showing “DC overload”.  Removed shore power and applied genset power and got same result.  Is there another circuit breaker I’m not checking or is the charger/inverter needing replacement (manufacture date: 3d qtr 2004)?

Check the push in circuit breaker on your inverter.  The inverter is mounted to the basement ceiling in the main basement compartment.  

If that doesn't work,. p[perform an inverter reset.  

15 minutes ago, biloxi_dad said:

I was running the charger and inverting option at the same time.  Could I have fried the unit?

Nope!

Many owners never turn off 'inverting'!

When plugged into shore power, inverting is automatically disabled.