2008 Diplomat Chasse batteries not charging.

David W
Go to solution Solved by Doug and Nicki,

Hello I'm new to the MH life and just purchased a 2008 Diplomat.  The chasse batteries will not charge while on shore power. I'm not sure what's happening while on gen or running.  Where should I start to diagnose the power issue? It's a 12 volt system with parallel batteries.  

On our 2003 Endeavor (sister to the Diplomat) the chassis batts don't charge on shore power either.  I switch the batteries off when I'm parked, but I'm all ears for a resolution (other than connecting a separate charger . . . . that's too easy).

The large solenoid (not a Big Boy on ours) is switched from the console, and it's a momentary switch for emergency starting . . . er, charging.  Batt Boost or Aux Start switch.

- bob

Your 2008 Diplomat is equipped with a BIRD (Bi-Directional Isolator Relay Delay) which allows for charging both from the alternator to both sets of batteries (chassis and house) and from the Inverter/Battery Charger to both sets of batteries.  See page 177 of your Owners Manual.  

Generally, if the the solenoid the BIRD controls (sometimes called the Big Boy) does not engage or has bad contacts, then there will be no current (charging) going either way.  That means that your engine alternator would not be maintaining your house batteries going down the road.  

I'm not sure where that realy (solenoid) is located on your coach - it is the same relay that energizes when you hold down the BOOST switch on the dash.  Measure both sides of the relay (large cables) and if there is more than 0.2 volts difference (when either the engine is running or you are are shore power), the contacts are bad.  

-Rick N.