Starting my coach

Yes, but why start it? Do northern farmers start their tractors during the winter??? Combines probably sit for 8+ months without being started… only in the MH world do some start every month.

• Like 2

I can start mine with slide out and jacks down. Jacks will retract with ignition on. Slide will not go in or out while ignition is on. Mine is a 99 diplomat. 

1 hour ago, whaley96raw said:

I have a 2006 Monaco Cayman. I am a relative newbie.

If I am parked with the slide outs out, and the stabilizers down, should I be able to start the Cummins and let it warm up?

Mine has been sitting since Nov as it does every year and I won't be starting it for at least another month.

• Like 1

Yes, you must start it to raise it to Travel Mode BEFORE you retract the slides.  Some hydraulic Jacks retract when the ignition switch is turned on, most don't.  I've found that some that did were not supposed to, and the culprit was the Nasson Switch under the Park Brake which would inadvertently signal that the parking brake was no longer engaged, and the jack would raise.  

-Rick N.

Casa Grande, AZ

3 minutes ago, Craggar said:

Mine has been sitting since Nov as it does every year and I won't be starting it for at least another month.

Thanks to all who replied. I am in Mexico and will be starting back to Maine soon. 
By starting it up now I wanted to avoid any possible surprise if it wouldn’t start when we go to leave, but I didn’t want to have to move everything inside to pull in the slides if it wasn’t necessary.

• Like 1

Bottom line, sort of repeating the folks that provided information.  There is a IGNITION slide lock interface or relay that prevents the slides to move if the  ignition switch is on.