Inverted power for breathing machine

LarryB

40 minutes ago, FHWilliams57 said:

I would also check this post before plugging in cpap machine on inverter power.  

I have no experience on this and maybe someone else can conform?

Yes, electric blankets & Keurig coffee makers are very suspects to damage by MSW inverters.  I use CPAP also.  I have a 12-volt DC cable for I bought for mine.  I started using it before I had a coach wired with an inverter.  When I upgraded CPAP  machines, I made sure to get one that I could use with a 12-volt cable.  I currently have PSW and leave the inverter on all the time so I can use either method.  I keep the 12-volt cable handy for power outages at my sick-and-brick house.  I haven't tried using it on MSW, but if the CPAP is older analog type, it should work.  But if it's the newer digital type, it may not.  I recommend getting a 12-volt cord and then you know you are safe. 

• Like 1

WOW! I have used my ResMed 10 on the inverter outlet with no problem so far. If I need the CPAP on inverter power, I will relocate to the other end of the bed and turn off the humidifier and not use an extension cord. Will not do it again though. Thanks for the info. Second thought, does the CPAP transformer make a difference?

Gary 05 AMB DST

Edited by Gary 05 AMB DST
second thought