Installing shocks on road master frame

Go to solution Solved by Wayne Thomas,

1 hour ago, Wayne Thomas said:

Going to install Koni shocks on my 2002 windsor  I’m a retired carpenter and backyard mechanic, when I built my pole barn I installed a pit 16’ long. So I have easy access to them are any tricks out there in lining them up .?

Never installed shocks this large 

Need to raise, using the air bags, the suspension to max.  Then block up or use jack stands for safety.  Two different mounts…lower is probably the “eyelet”.  Upper may be the same.  If it is the stud, use a small, some call needle nose, pair of “Vise Grips” or locking pliers and grab the stud right below the mount.  Nut will be 18mm or 3/4”…memory.  Use a reversing ratchet box wrench….the kind you flip over to reverse, not the bulkier one with the selector handle. Rears are easy.  Front a little “not as”.  But, shocks have been installed at rallys….should have used jack stands, but rarely do.  Might need to spray the nuts with a penetrating oil.

Don’t know how the Koni is configured or made compared to Bosch.  The rod on the Bosch extends out so you can clamp on it, the new one, and that portion of the rod never travels or retracts into the seal or body.  No one worries about checking upper torque.  Get it as tight as you can.  If the Koni doesn’t extend like the Bosch so you can clamp on the rod with locking pliers….then use locking chain pliers, strap wrench (use a wrap of duct tape on the body) or “Channel Locks” or water pump grooved pliers.

Guest Ray Davis

Wayne,  Having a pit you may be able to attach the top and push up on the shock to attach the bottom.

I used a ratchet strap to compress my shocks.

Good luck, let us know.

I installed all 4 Koni shocks in my driveway.  As @Ray Davis said, attach the top first and compress to get the bottom to fit.  Not a bad job at all. Hardest part was actually getting the rubber bushing freed from the bolt.  Took some heat to get them free. 😉