Will My Lithium RV Batteries Catch on Fire?

Scotty Hutto

Since installing my Lithium’s- solar and batteries has became a serious hobby for me.

if you are getting Lithium’s make sure and get the LiFePO4 - lithium iron phosphate. Don’t get the used Telsa model S modules or make your own with other Lithium chemistries.

Also make sure you have a good BMS (Battery Management System) setup.

if you mistreat them they can have issues- so can lead batteries and propane systems and the gas and diesel fuel.

• Like 1

I am not of fan of lithium batteries. I am a licensed plane mechanic & pilot and yes some planes are certified to and are using lithium batteries now. There is extra monitoring and checks that have to be performed to use these batteries in planes. At this time my opinion the cost way to expensive for what you get. The Jet I fly cost over 80,000.00 for 2 batteries and the upgrade to lithium. 

22 minutes ago, klcdenver said:

I am not of fan of lithium batteries. I am a licensed plane mechanic & pilot and yes some planes are certified to and are using lithium batteries now. There is extra monitoring and checks that have to be performed to use these batteries in planes. At this time my opinion the cost way to expensive for what you get. The Jet I fly cost over 80,000.00 for 2 batteries and the upgrade to lithium. 

Wow.

We’ve had a few fires in town from cheap e-bikes charging in garages. The cheap stuff doesn’t like water, at all

https://ktvz.com/news/fire/2022/10/04/nw-bend-garage-fire-apparently-sparked-by-older-e-bikes-failed-lithium-battery/

1 hour ago, JDCrow said:

Wow.

We’ve had a few fires in town from cheap e-bikes charging in garages. The cheap stuff doesn’t like water, at all

https://ktvz.com/news/fire/2022/10/04/nw-bend-garage-fire-apparently-sparked-by-older-e-bikes-failed-lithium-battery/

Especially salt water. 

Guest Ray Davis