Analog instrument cluster backlighting

Steve P

The backlights on my individual analog gages such as rpms speedometer etc. are not working.  The headlights work,andy overhead light work when you twist the knob to the left although it is a little flaky and stubborn.  I checked the front run bay driver side fuses - the dash gauge fuse and the panel lamp fuse and both are good.  I'm studying The wiring diagrams to see if it could be anything else other than the headlight switch. Maybe someone with prior experience could offer advice?  Or ask me diagnostic questions? 

Humble thanks, 

Steve

23 minutes ago, Steve P said:

The backlights on my individual analog gages such as rpms speedometer etc. are not working.  The headlights work,andy overhead light work when you twist the knob to the left although it is a little flaky and stubborn.  I checked the front run bay driver side fuses - the dash gauge fuse and the panel lamp fuse and both are good.  I'm studying The wiring diagrams to see if it could be anything else other than the headlight switch. Maybe someone with prior experience could offer advice?  Or ask me diagnostic questions? 

Humble thanks, 

Steve

Look on page 182.  IF Swap or put a new 10 amp fuse in position F25.  IF that don't do it....then there is either a BAD headlight switch of you have lost the GROUND to the instrument panel.  BUT, if the idiot lights come on and such...my get is that the "Reheostat" on the headlight switch is bad....or there is a LOOSE connection. You will have to pull the switch...usually not a BAD job and take it to a NAPA store and let them "find a replacement".  Monaco used a variety of switches...so there is NOT one that I know fits all. 

This is the ONLY one in the Parts LIST... The PN is from an ADVANCED AUTO catalog...

part # 5970857 for 1973 Chevy C10 truck
AC Delco D1588