Old school maps and books

JDCrow

While I’m kinda tech savvy, I grew up without the internet and still get excited to read maps and books about traveling and such. Maybe it brings out the kid in me. Anyone else still using paper? 

DFBF0681-9B1C-44B9-920B-F2F03F743386.jpeg

Edited by JDCrow
Spelling
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

My wife does butttttt!!!! I like zooming in oa a destination.

7 hours ago, Gary M said:

My wife does butttttt!!!! I like zooming in oa a destination.

I still like the satellite zooming as well. I’m not good at tabs and files when searching for stuff I read. It’s easy to grab the maps or books to find info 

• Like 1

Yeah i get the whole map thing, for a couple reasons. On a map you can see the whole picture not just a line to follow, Maps let you determine your level of participation, going direct or wander a little. They let you see your trip in distance / area covered. Most of all they give me quiet time… 😳cause now the 28216C68-7FBA-466F-8949-4D22D4A49CCD.thumb.jpeg.659e45682658599f09a8f06d4991f4fd.jpegwife is too busy scrolling thru her Phone GPS trying to find which turn off “were looking for” 🙀😂

I have a door pocket full of maps for most of the Southeastern states.  Maybe a few Yankee states, too.  Every time I buy a new vehicle I transfer all those Welcome Center or AAA maps from the old vehicle to the new.  I know I haven't added any since 1998 and have maps that go all the way back to my grandfather's 69 Impala glovebox. 

My favorite is a regional map around the metro Atlanta area (I actually bought that one in early 1980's).  It goes wayyyy beyond metro and only shows roads that go somewhere omitting all those detailed subdivision streets.  If you wanted to go somewhere, this was the map. 

I haven't unfolded any of these maps since GPS in mid 2000's, but I'll transfer them to the next vehicle "just in case". 

- bob

• Haha 1

On 9/30/2021 at 9:52 PM, JDCrow said: