Fuel gauge not working

Holiday Rambler Neptune 2004

I had a mechanic check why my fuel gauge isn't working. He says that both the sender and the gauge in the dash are bad.

Does anyone know where I can find a sender unit and possibly a replacement gauge? I need the sender unit but I could fit an after market gauge if necessary.

Also the generator doesn't start though it did start when I bought the coach last month. I wonder if it uses a separate battery from the chassis batteries. I'm a total newbie trying to find out the ins and outs of this machine.

Thanks guys.

Norman

IMG_20210728_155034809_HDR.jpg

regarding the genset, it should use the chassis batteries for starting.  No prior experience with the fuel gauge issue.  Make sure you have at least a third tank of fuel as it will have a shut off so you can not run the tank dry while camping with the genset running.  More info on what the generator is doing would help.  turns over but does not start.  starts but quits, etc, etc.

I don't know if you get a fault code for a non-starting unit but the light in the generator switch will blink for any fault codes, then look in the manual to troubleshoot.  There's 2 sets of blinks giving you a 2 digit fault code.  Details are in the manual.

As for the fuel gauge and sending unit . . . . I might get a second opinion.  What are the odds both would go bad at the same time?

- bob

Yes, the photo of the fuel gauge above was taken with the engine off. It doesn't move from that position at all. The guy who sold me the MH said that sometimes it works, but since I have had it there has been no change.

Re the generator not starting, I turned on the ignition and pressed the lower end of the button a few times with no reaction, then it blinked 3 times and went off. When I press the top part of the button to start, nothing at all happens.

Guest Steven