Gelcoat flaking

Yeah, that is clear coat flaking. 

You can pour over many threads here, most will point to the same outcome, repaint.

I’ve see a few YouTube videos with Xcote. Not sure how it will work, but maybe worth pursuing

Please report back anything you decide to do as this is an ongoing discussion with our older coaches 

• Like 2

I remember a post by Bob Nodine ~3-4 years ago, he did extensive work repairing the clear coat on his coach.  I tried to find it without success, maybe someone else can.  Bob Doesn't frequent the site much since selling his Diplomat. 

I've had to do some painting on my coach I AM NOT AN EXPERT but I'll try anything once.  In most cases I was able to terminate the painting & clear coat at a color change so it wasn't noticeable.  The only place I didn't do this the difference in clear coat was noticeable, trying to  blend the clear coat is tricky and takes a lot of practice.  I asked the staff at the paint store and the only thing they offered was a can of special clear coat that is suppose to "melt" into the old.  Didn't try that, maybe I should have.   When I get time I will probably repaint the area but not a priority right now. 

I’m getting the rear of our LaPalma repaired and repainted by the shop that every dealership here uses. The owner told me the only option, when clear coat is peeling is to repaint the color and then clear coat it, or it’s going to look off.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, jacwjames said:

I remember a post by Bob Nodine ~3-4 years ago, he did extensive work repairing the clear coat on his coach.  I tried to find it without success, maybe someone else can.  Bob Doesn't frequent the site much since selling his Diplomat.