camera cable

Has anyone replaced their rear view, back up camera and if so were you able to use the old cable?  Was an adapter required?  I want to replace my junk back up camera with something better.  RV shop said the original cable will not match up to any of the newer cameras.  Thanks,

Woody Miller

09 Dynasty Regal IV

I replaced my B/W with a color system from RVCAMS. They were super helpful, and led me ot the correct cable adapter. Straightforward job and not much work.

I have no first-hand experience but a few on this forum have said to shy away from wireless systems in case you're tempted.

Edited by bobdinsmore

I haven't replaced mine yet because the camera I have on my 2005 Executive is not compatability with any new cameras and there is no known adapter for it.  It is a Panasonic TW-CC100B,  it uses a special interface located behind the dash,  between the Aladdin and the camera to convert the video format.  I'm told it wasn't used on many coaches so it hopefully you don't have this camera.  I talked with an ex- Monaco employee who installed these systems.  The solution I plan to implement is cut the camera off the cable at the rear of the coach, then cut other end off the "interface" and slimmest that interface completely.  Then I plan on soldering on new connectors will I'll use to connect to the new camera and also to the Aladdin system.  This won't be easy because of the tiny gauge wire, especially the shielded video portion.  I'll also have to provide for the proper voltage to the camera as that was previously supplied by the interface adapter.  My suggestion is to first determine the manufacturer and model of your existing camera and then search on that.  There are many adapters available for many different cameras, just not mine.