Progressive HW50C hard wired 2nd display

jacwjames

I had a second display for my surgeguard mounted in the coach.  In July, while on vacation, the display started to go wonky and when I started playing with it the end pulled out of the cable.   I know the display is good as I can take it outside to where I have one mounted in the small bay and it works. 

I started to look at running a new cable, Progressive wants ~$45 for a cable.   Hopefully that ain't going to happen as I have the RJ11 ends and tool to make a cable so hopefully I can make one.

Does anyone know the wiring from end to end.

28 minutes ago, jacwjames said:

I had a second display for my surgeguard mounted in the coach.  In July, while on vacation, the display started to go wonky and when I started playing with it the end pulled out of the cable.   I know the display is good as I can take it outside to where I have one mounted in the small bay and it works. 

I started to look at running a new cable, Progressive wants ~$45 for a cable.   Hopefully that ain't going to happen as I have the RJ11 ends and tool to make a cable so hopefully I can make one.

For lack of anyone having those specifics, just cut the cable end off (which you have to do anyway) and figure out the wiring with a multimeter and duplicate same wiring on the new RJ11 end.  Before putting the new end on, use the wires to determine if there are any opens / shorts across the cable by disconnecting both ends and selectively shorting two wires together to determine if you can detect the newly closed connection on the other end (the end with the RJ11 still on).

Edited by DavidL

28 minutes ago, jacwjames said:

A bit contrary to the previous post....so read both and then try this.  Progressive DOES specify that this IS a Data cable....but you have one....to verify....