Water Pump Question

dereeves
Go to solution Solved by MJ.STIGER,

What is a good pressure for a motorhome? I am trying to go through every system on this Diplomat and water is coming up next. When you are hooked to city water, does your pump work or are you purely reliant on the water pressure or do you fill the water tank and use the pump, or i guess how this stuff work? Sorry to sound like a tard, but i am new to all of this stuff other then ensuring it works or not for inspection report for sale/auction.

IMHO - You don't need to use the pump if you are connected to an external water source (city water or campground or well), but a good water pressure regulator is a must.  Just don't buy the junky Camco one.  50lbs is a good setting.  The water pump is mainly for pumping from the water tank when traveling or boondocking.

• Like 1

Recommended pressures for most Monaco coaches are between 55-65 psi.  Under that and you will have low water flow and perpetually have soap in your hair. Above that and you will use more water and have the possibility of causing leaks (the plumbing system *should* be able to hold much higher pressures ~120 psi with no problem - but these are older coaches, and the operative word is should. If you put 120 psi on your water system you will immediately find out if you have any weak spots…). 

Based on the experience of this moderating this group over the years, I’ve observed two basic approaches:

1. Use your fresh water tank and pump for all fresh water, and use the city water connection only to fill your fresh water tank. This is the method that seems to be preferred by the owners of upper-level coaches (Dynasty, Executive, Signature) with good water pumps (I.e., Remco AquaJet 55ARV)

(editor’s note: I have a “lower level” coach - a Diplomat - but upgraded to a Aquajet 55ARV and prefer “method 1”)