Almost lost it at the launch ramp at Cattail Cove SP on Lake Havasu

I've been launching my boat with my 32' Motorhome for 21 years.  Never an issue until 2 days ago.  The ramp in question dropped off to about a 30 degree angle just 2' from waters edge.  Once my wife drove the boat off the trailer I put it in drive, gave it some gas, and released the parking brake when the torque built up.  To my horror the wheels started spinning and the RV slid back 3' or more.  After  a couple seconds of terror, the spinning wheels ground the algae off the slick ramp and slowly the RV crawled back up onto dry ground.  I was so shook up, I retrieved the boat (not letting the RV tires get wet). Parked in my campsite and poured a couple of stiff drinks.  I never put my boat back in the water that weekend.

Been there....not quite as spooky....but having to engage 4WD drive to get back up the ramp.  OK....going down and coming out, but sometimes if you go too far when bringing boat back in....your tires get in the "Muck".  I will also relate the most comical boat retrieval of almost 30 years of boating in NC. We have a lake near us that has a a set of ramps at the far, northern end of it.  Those ramps are frequented by individuals that are faculty, staff  or affiliated with a large liberal arts university.  We were up there once as our son and his friends were in a boarding HS nearby and we took them out on the lake for skiing.

When I was getting the boat back in, I heard a commotion in the adjoining ramp.  An individual was attempting to get a large sailboat onto the trailer.  The trailer was attached to a Jeep Grand Cherokee....probably had the small V8.  The individual yelled at his wife, the driver, to hit it.  She did and it spun mud and muck and water all over him.  BUT IT DIDN'T move.  Then they got into a heated discussion as to the issue and the corrective action needed to extricate the boat and trailer from the water.