Time for New Tires

Well, it's time for new shoes on the coach.  Although I really can't complain, these Michelin's have lasted quite a while and technically they are still in very good condition.  In fact, I can't bring myself to scrap them just yet, so we'll be running them on our yard trailers at work.

I thought I'd post up my experience with the Michelin XZE2 Energy tires that I've been running on my coach for the past almost ten years now in the 295/80R22.5 size.  

I put the tires on in spring of 2015 and they had a code date of 2514 (mid-2015).  I know many people replace tires at 5 or 7 years regardless of condition but personally, I don't change them until they start showing signs of deterioration.  Throughout my career as a mechanic and after attending multiple tire seminars I start paying particularly close attention at the 5-year mark but don't replace them until they start showing signs of weathering, cracking, UV or ozone deterioration or anything that raises suspicion.  On my first two coaches I ran Bridgestone R250's and they lasted 6 years and 7 years respectively, actually that's when I sold the coaches and the tires were still in excellent condition.  Some might explain this by being able to park our coach in a climate controlled shop when not being used but that is only a recent option.  Our first two coaches as well as the first ten years of ownership of our current Dynasty have all been parked outside, however, I did keep the tires covered when parked in the driveway at our first home.  I think the best thing for tires is for them running down the road and flexing but the next best thing is keeping them clean and protected.